New Job, New Chapter

Tomorrow, I start my new job in the Office of Sexual Assault Prevention and Response at Harvard University.

I am so excited to do something I feel so passionately about. This job literally combines my love for higher education and social work, and I am so grateful to have found such a perfect job.

Of course I have my doubts and concerns. It being a new position, I don’t have as much structure as I like. I already know that I won’t have a set routine down for a couple weeks (maybe months), which isn’t ideal for my anxiety-prone personality.

Having just left a job where I did not have as much responsibility as I wanted to and where I found myself sitting around doing absolutely nothing too frequently, I am slightly worried I won’t be as challenged as I would like.

But these concerns are fleeting, because I believe with all my heart that this is going to be an amazing opportunity for me. I will be getting back to survivor advocacy and peer education, which I LOVE. This is a new position, yes, which means I can help create it into something more concrete. I will take on projects and new challenges to further myself.

Tomorrow marks the beginning of a new chapter in my life. I am going to be in a more stable place. I’ll know where my next paycheck is coming from, and I’ll know that I can afford to pay rent. I will have a set schedule that won’t change on me too frequently.

My career is back on track, and I will be doing something for a cause I am dedicated to. This fact alone makes me feel giddy.

1c2e7083a2e36dfd79b04f564c7db180

And I have.

I am blessed to have found a job that allows me to keep tremendously interested in my greatest passion.

xx

e

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good for you; very rarely is one given the chance to pursue that which makes one happiest. Cheers! 🙂

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,792 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

