Singing in the Shower

For the first time in weeks, today I walked down the street with a spring in my step, sparkle in my eyes.

I feel so much better than I have in the last month. I feel a little like myself again. I still feel dark & twisty inside, but I can manage a smile on my face without too much contortion on my part.

Today I sang in the shower. Well I almost always hum and sing, but today I bellowed. I was rockin’ out, which I haven’t done in ages. As I got ready for the day this morning, I danced naked in my room. I also haven’t done this in a while.

I think today is like the first Spring-ish like day in my brain. The first day when you can smell the Springness in the air. There’s still a nip in the air, but it’s not quite like the tundra in the dead of the winter.

After feeling so crummy for weeks, after feeling so alone for weeks, after feeling so BLERGHH for weeks, I am so excited to finally be feeling a little bit of my spirit again. Singing in the shower might seem like such a small thing….dancing in my room might seem like just a tiny little change, but I think this is the start of Spring in my brain. It’ll keep getting warmer until I am smiling at the world, laughing at nothing and everything, and skipping everywhere I go.

I’m going to embrace this little change in me and pull myself out of this dark & twisty place I’ve called home for the last month. Thank god April is almost over.

In the words of Meredith Grey from Grey’s Anatomy, “Maybe being grateful means recognizing what you have for what it is. Appreciating small victories. Admiring the struggle it takes simply to be human. Maybe we’re thankful for the familiar things we know. And maybe we’re thankful for the things we’ll never know. At the end of the day, the fact that we have the courage to still be standing is reason enough to celebrate.”

Singing in the shower is reason enough to celebrate.

xx

eunice

Leave a comment

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,977 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

