Frozen – Musical feat. Disney Princesses

I recently came across this video.

.

The summarizing line is, “I am who I am, I don’t need a man.”

I think this video presents a very valid criticism of the Disney Princesses, as a lot of the messages from Disney movies took agency away from Princesses, as they were always saved by the Prince. Their lives only consisted of “true love,” and sometimes portrayed very unhealthy relationships.

I think this video does a great job in stating that you shouldn’t have to give up your dreams to be with your Prince.

At the same time, I think it is at the precipice of claiming that being alone is feminist. I think it is dangerous to put down being in love as not important. Just because you choose to settle down with someone you love, doesn’t mean that you are not feminist.

I think it’s important to highlight that it is ultimately our decision (given that we all have access to information and education, so that we can make an educated choice as to how we want to live our lives), not that a single decision is more feminist than another.

Just a thought. All in all, I enjoyed watching this video; I thought it was quite well-made.

xx

e

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. do you mind if I tweet this?

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

    • RT @SimonNRicketts: A museum in Washington DC has a virtual shark tank, telling you to touch the glass if you dare. So, this guy did. https… 2 weeks ago
    • RT @hellolanemoore: nerd boys: i hate that there's a female Doctor Who!!! if a woman is in it i'm OUT! also nerd boys: women won't date me… 3 weeks ago
    • Will never forgive @NCIS_CBS for killing off Kate and now Qasim. 2 months ago
    • RT @wayansjr: Happy white people proud of their racist ancestors day 4 months ago
    • RT @BernieSanders: People who can’t afford health care do not deserve to die. I don’t know how we can make it any clearer than that. 6 months ago
  • Blog Stats

    • 7,045 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

