When I Become a Mother

This poem is not to say that women are victims and men are perpetrators; this poem is in response to a conversation with my other female friends, through which we realized that all our lives, we’ve been taught to fear of strangers, men, darkness, being alone, etc. 

.

When I Become a Mother

When I become a mother,
I won’t teach my daughter
to fear the night or expect a knight
because it just ain’t right.
.
When I become a mother,
I won’t teach my daughter
to avoid wearing short skirts and walking alone
or to fake-talk on the phone.
.
When I become a mother,
I won’t teach my daughter
to think she has to follow a set of guidelines
and be restricted by social signs.
.
When I become a mother,
I won’t teach my daughter
to believe that she should be afraid,
and her body and love is a trade.


.
Because when I become a mother,
I will teach my son
to treat women with care and respect
and that her body is not to inspect.
.
Because when I become a mother,
I will teach my son
to always get consent for whatever act
as if signing a verbal pact.
.
Because when I become a mother,
I will teach my son
the beauty and passion of mutually desired love
when two people fit like a glove.
.
Because when I become a mother,
I will teach my son
to learn to look out for and support others
for the others’ mothers.
.
Because when I become a mother,
I will teach my children
not to fear and be afraid of the world
but to love and make this a safe place for all.

xx

eunice

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,939 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

