Packing for a Big Move

I sincerely enjoy packing. There is an indescribable pleasure in folding clothes and organizing items in ways that they fill empty spaces in a suitcase or a box.

So far I already have four boxes packed, and I look over at the corner of my room with a smile on my face. On the flip side, my smile dissipates when I look at the rest of my room, as it is currently a complete mess. I have books strewn about and clothes flung over different surfaces; I’m still trying to figure out where everything is going to go. 

The decluttering, the throwing things out, the lessening my belongings is hard. There are so many things with much sentimental value that I don’t really use much. Those are hard to throw out. Remember this? This is the program for the cultural show, Carnaval I went to. Oooh remember this? This is the name tag I got when I was leading the Pre-Orientation Program. 

I actually have absolute no use for those things, but it helps me remember things. 

It feels like I’m carving out pieces of my life and throwing them into the trash. 

Really great things I’m learning about the last four years of my life is the incredible people I have met and loved in the past four years. My Memory Boxes were filled with postcards, letters, cards, notes from friends I had the pleasure of knowing. Some are still right by my side, and some have left my side, but I am still blown away by the number of beautiful souls I’ve met. 

Packing reminds me of how incredibly lucky I am. I’m blessed to have so many people who care about me, so lucky to have all these things, so grateful to have all these memories, and so fortunate to have had such a beautiful home for the last four years.

6727adad83082caa5ffddedfa294a1fd

 

Packing is an overwhelming task, especially when it’s all of your belongings across the country, but packing is also an opportunity for you to stop and look around at all the wonderful things you have in your life and appreciate all the beauty that your life contains. It’s the chance to really feel grateful.

I am so incredibly lucky.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. V. Lee

     /  August 8, 2013

    I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL YOU ARE HERE.

    Reply
  2. V. Lee

     /  August 8, 2013

    Also, you should bring a nice present for my mom. Since your stuff will be in my house for a week+ hahaha

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 7,030 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

