Finale & Next Chapter

Tonight, I found myself watching the season 8 finale of Scrubs, which is the TV show that marks much of my adolescence. I’ve watched Scrubs since I was in middle school, and its lasting impact on my life is quite visible.

Not only can I quote various scenes from the show, but I also planned out the special spot in heaven at which my best friend and I will meet up in the afterlife, just like J.D. and Turk.

I’ve learned great many things from the life lessons the characters learned during the eight seasons of the show (I do recognize there is a ninth season, but I did not watch it as I heard the show had intended to end after season eight), such as, “In musicals, there’s always a happy ending. But in life, sometimes when you get want you want, you end up missing what you left behind. Whether it’s your roommate or time spent with your child or even the music you used to hear in your head.”

Perhaps the greatest thing I walked away with is my love for the characters that had somehow become very real to me. I felt so close to the characters; by the end, their pain and their happiness were mine.

.

While I watched this finale scene, I was sobbing because of how beautiful it was, how happy the characters looked, how much in love they were, and how much they cherished each other. My love for TV shows such as Scrubs stems from my appreciation for the different kinds of relationships and the amount of love there is for each other.

To just emphasize my appreciation for the friendship shown on this show, I just want to add this gem.

J.D. & Turk singing “Guy Love.”

And this gem found on Buzzfeed: 24 Reasons Why Your Romantic Relationship Will Never Compare to J.D. and Turk’s.

Scrubs is one of the handful of TV shows that has made a lasting impression because of the amazing portrayals of relationships/friendships and characters that are very real to me.

And my reaching the finale, where J.D. takes a step into the future with a new job at a new house, into a new chapter of his life, at this very moment when I am about to take that step into the uncertain future, into the next chapter of my life, seems very fortuitous.

In one of the last few episodes, J.D. says, “What I will remember most is that leaving behind parts of my life always ended up hurting more than I thought.”

In the next few weeks before I take my next steps, I will make sure to cherish the things I am leaving behind and to embrace the life that I have now, because I already know I’m going to miss my life here.

Scrubs finale ended with this thought:

“Things rarely go exactly the way you want them to, so sometimes you make do with whatever you get. Endings are never easy. We all want to believe that what we do is very important, that people hang on our every word, that they care what we think. The truth is, you should consider yourself lucky if you even occasionally get to make someone – anyone – feel a little better. After that, it’s all about the people that you’ve let into your life.”

And I really hope I’ve made someone here in this chapter of my life feel a little better by having me in their lives.

xx

eunice

Next Post
Leave a comment

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,782 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

