Saying Goodbye to a Mentor

Today was a goodbye party for L. She was the advisor for Panhellenic, while I served on the Panhellenic board for a year and a half. She was also in charge of Women’s Leadership Experience, which I helped with last summer. She was also the go-to person for bystander behavior and Title IX things. She is now leaving to work for her national sorority in Texas.

Believe you me, I am so excited for her, and I am extremely psyched for what she can achieve with her national organization.

But saying goodbye was hard.

Mostly because as the one who just graduated in May, I was supposed to do the leaving. You know? Knowing that I will spend the remainder of my summer in the Student Involvement Leadership Office, walking by her empty office day in and day out is tough. I don’t like it one bit.

During the party, I got up to say a word about my appreciation for L. All I ended up saying was how much I was scared of her at first. I thought for the longest time she didn’t like me, and I struggled with that. I ended my “speech” with saying thanks for showing me how to be a Greek member who lives by the values our sororities were founded upon and who cares deeply about social justice issues. I said her bystander behavior work inspires me, and I am grateful to have met her.

By the end, I had to stop because I was shaking…and I was too close to tears.

I did not have the chance to say that she is someone who pushed me to be better, helped me to see myself better, and gave me a new dream to pursue. She is someone who supports students and helps them see their potential. She opened me up to so many new opportunities, Women’s Leadership Experience, Redefining Community Experience, Association of Fraternal Leadership and Values, etc. Without these experiences, I don’t think I would be the person that I am today. So thousands of thanks to L.

She’s changed my life.

Saying goodbye to a mentor is hard. That’s all I can say.

xx

eunice

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 7,030 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

