Nighttime

Most nights, I have trouble sleeping. My mind is always busiest at night.

It is when I feel settled and calm, and I feel free to roam my darkest thoughts without fear of interruption or distraction. Most of all, judgement. In the blanket of darkness, my dreams taste sweet, my thoughts stand tall, and my emotions exude out of every inch of my body.

When the sun sets, I shed my outer veneer and coverups. I face the darkened world with the purest smile on my face and sway with the low hum of the Earth as it spins. Every word I absorb and every word that seeps into my thoughts, flow deeply in my chest. And the deepest aches of my heart float to the surface; the dark consoles the pain and rocks it to sleep.

In the dark, I’m allowed to lie broken.

In the wise words of Elie Wiesel,

1363c25ca52da644323b31d582ac9602

xx

eunice

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,944 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

