Dear B pt. 1

Dear B,

It’s been three years, and I finally see me now.

I stood before you with my heart in my hand, my arms outstretched. I saw love in your eyes, and I believed that we saw the same world, same future ahead of us. You held out your right fist, pulsing with passion and danger. In it was the darkest part of your heart, tissue so scarred and so hurt, it was dead, no longer throbbing with life.

My heart leapt forward. Finally, someone more fucked up than me. I carved out a dark tissue of my heart, tissue so dark that no one else knows, and gave it to you. My heart instantly shattered into pieces. You stared at my heart, scattered on the floor, and backed up slowly, treading on the parts that used to make up my heart. You held up your left hand, enclosed in hers. Your mouth said sorry, but your eyes were hard. Your eyes shamed my broken self. And I despised the darkness of my heart. I believed your cold smile that told me I was not worth fighting for, not worth the time it would have taken to sweep up the pieces and collage me whole.

When you left, I was alone to put myself back together. I used glue I borrowed from her, tape I found on the ground, and plaster I earned from the world. And slowly, with time, I pieced my heart together.

Now, I’m starting to forget your darkened face, the frigid stare, and I’m definitely forgetting the version of me your eyes saw. I’m starting to see me through my own eyes.

And holy hell, aren’t I a fucking beauty.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. V. Lee

     /  June 27, 2013

    “I believed your cold smile that told me I was not worth fighting for, not worth the time it would have taken to sweep up the pieces and collage me whole.” I love this part.

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Blog Stats

    • 6,782 hits
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Categories

